Robert Townson Public School

Be Safe, Be Respectful, Aim High

Telephone02 9824 7411

The Australian Curriculum



The Australian Curriculum sets consistent national standards to improve learning outcomes for all young Australians. It sets out, through content descriptions and achievement standards, what students should be taught and achieve, as they progress through school. It is the base for future learning, growth and active participation in the Australian community.

Primary school in NSW follows a curriculum based on stages of learning. Each stage is approximately equivalent to two school years. For each learning stage there are skills, knowledge and a level of understanding that each student should develop.

Early Stage 1 refers to Kindergarten
Stage 1
Years 1 and 2
Stage 2
Years 3 and 4
Stage 3
includes Years 5 and 6


Kindergarten to Year 6 focuses on six key learning areas:

- English

- Mathematics

- Science & Technology



- Creative Arts